S’More Options for Content Creation

I happened across http://www.smore.com from a retweet. It’s like Glogster (I think) although I have never used the former.

The attractive graphics, along with the clever moniker enticed me. My first reaction was to reinvent the syllabus, an otherwise drab document. Why not make it eye-catching? I form a punchy paper that gets to the point. Certainly more engaging than a word document. I thought about displaying a QR code on my Promethean Board and having students use the class set of iPads to scan the code to visit the s’more syllabus.

I created an aesthetically pleasing web page–a streamlined syllabus. It took ten minutes–five if I could drag and drop images from my Google Chrome browser (which I could not for some reason). It seems petty, but the relevance of a service like S’More derives from that instantaneous ability to disseminate info graphics.

Digital content creation tools are eclipsing traditional word processing platforms.  Remember when Google Docs was revolutionary? That is so 2009.  Look, I tell my 2009 self, “I am going to use a website called S’More to create a digital poster and then use a QR code to distribute it across camera-equipped smart devices. Ok?”

And what I would post on a blog in 2015 would make absolutely no sense to my 2012 self.

English Language Arts will pivot on hashing out the meaning of creating communication in this evolving landscape. It is not only the job of teachers to uncover the amazing tools that visionary programmers create, but also curate and make sense of the ways in which users wield information. For instance, what is the significance of using a web-enabled poster and generating a QR code for distribution?

This upcoming school year, teachers across the globe will embark on a landmark year of reinventing literacy instruction. And it will be the students who teach us.

 

One comment

  1. Right on, Chris. Thanks for sharing your review of new tool you found, and I’m really diggin’ how you framed the idea of how quickly tech changes, fitting edtech in the transition. I’ll have to keep up with your blog.

Leave a Reply

